Categories
Creative Writing

Poetry Throwback Pt. 2

These poems originate from 2015 as well. Many of my early poems were all over the place in terms of subject matter and following a story line.


Below is the first poem, I ever performed!

Push

When life gives you lemons—

Scratch that!

Life can give you the lemonade

Be the unforgiving spade

Go faster than that Minute Maid

But what benefits does that give when the benefits have already been made?

You cheated?

You see, look:

People procrastinate and ostracize the elastic case

but how long we g’on aggravate this situation that festered into pandemic altercation.

I know the world can get so cold

Put on a hoodie and warm up like the sideline bench mate

Don’t hate if you ain’t always number one

Somebody g’on always be jealous and wanna push you some, then hit you son

You gotta wear pads

Toughen up, you better than glass, no shattered dreams, I know you class, it’s in your genes, so wear it on ya sleeve

Push

‘til the end

‘Til the chin is bleeding from within

I wanna feel that pain,

the bane of my existence

These unspoken thoughts I’ve mustered

started as a mustard seed

Done grew up into a huge big tree

I believe that when I will take this medication,

My Lawd, will I be saved again?

I understood where I stood wasn’t feminine,

but who is really that old-school?

My orange M&Ms, nostalgic friend?

Na, I get it. This world is so influential

We got wannabes thinkin’ they from the streets and she ‘on’t care about what’s in her jeans

Keep that shirt!

And yet, she wonders what she’s worth

I ain’t lowering the standard, just acting on the knowledge. But hey, the truth hurts

Push

‘til the end

‘Til the beveled life is fading thin

Yo, you ain’t on my level

I’m probably ya idol

Ain’t that why you don’t like me the intense denial?

Yeah

I won’t lie to ya. I feel the same

Feed my heart, my soul, but my mind— don’t chase!

You don’t know what to do with it

I see you think you’re on top of me

Toupe!

My fruits laid. I eat up but don’t get paid

For the dreams that lay on the pavement as they became reality

Neva look down on me

Imma rise, you’ll see

And when I’m on the top, don’t come and ask to see me

The Lion within the Gazelle

I’m lingering in a distant heaven;

thoughts on overload.

Sorry my overactive thoughts do not have a code.

Words breech ya, tough speechers, Imma young annihilator, yeah homie I’ll beat ya.

Let me take my time to understand ya.

Been doing this for a while, I ain’t even gotta keep up,

so save some.

My mind has not been tapped into, nah not a broken one.

You know I

have a mysterious glitch in me.

Maybe a complete identity,

a misunderstood ‘lil remedy,

a great gift that’s inside of me,

an uncharted realm I have yet to discover,

swimmin’ wit a cover

maskin’ the anomaly

that can change a whole century of a misguided generation

who will rise from within my entity . . .

The lion within the gazelle has spoken


Did you enjoy these poems? Let me know in the comments’ section!

Thank you for reading!!! If you enjoyed this piece, subscribe to the blog below if you aren’t subscribed already! Hit the like button! Share it with people! ‘Preciate it!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter, Instagram, and Wattpad: @josie2k

Leave a comment